newbie questions :)

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Canadian1

Junior
Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm new to wine making, currently have merlot and chardonnay kits on the go and they are doing well. My question has to do with the other wine I've got started; I've got a 1 gallon batch of strawberry wine, which also seems to be progressing as it should, my problem is my autosiphon won't fit in the gallon jug, and I'm not very good at the old fashioned method of starting the gravitational flow. So how do others deal with this? Is there a trick? Some other way? Hope to hear some tried and true methods of the professionals.
Many thanks.

I am assuming that you have your strawberry wine on a shelf or table higher than the vessel you wish to transfer the strawberry wine to. Have a empty glass or jar near the empty transfer vessel.
1.Fill your tubing with water.
2. place thumb over the end that you are going to put eventually put into the transfer vessel.
3.place the opposite end of your water filled tubing into the strawberry wine.
3b. the other end now should be close to the glass/jar near the trasfer vessel.
4. remove thumb and allow water to flow out of tube, followed by your strawberry wine.
5. direct the water into the empty jar/glass.
6. when your strawberry wine is close to the end of of your tubing (now devoid of water). Replace thumb over tubing, long enough to move tubing over your empty trasfer vessel.
7. remove thumb....now you have your strawberry wine flowing into the vessel you wish to transfer your wine into

Hope that helps
JC

Welcome Canadian1....Glad to have you here...I am a displaced Citizen of Canada....living in the USA...I have the best of both worlds.

Hope you get your wine transfered okay....We had the same problem....