My First Wine Tasting

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scott B

Reaction score
I went to my first charity wine tasting event last night. It was advertised as great wines from around the world. I thought the wines would blow me away, but strangely they did not. I am new to this wine game and reading some of the posting here Ithought the wine I was making would be good but not up there with the commercial boys. I was wrong, I told my wife that my wines tasted better than a lot of this stuff.
<?:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" />
So from now on I am going to hold my head high and proudly tell anyone who ask, Yes this is a very good wine I made.
I cannot wait until my first “BIG” reds have finished their 12 months aging so I can drink in all that goodness!!! Only 9 more month to go!
smiley20.gif

Interesting. Usually the wines are donated in one of these since they are a tax write off so they are not clunkers.

Do you remember any of the wines they served?

Winemaker Scott you may need to put some of those "Big Reds" you have aging away, because they get even better!
VC

I left the list of wine at home and I do not remember any names.

So far I have put away 270 bottles for aging, with 6 carboys clearing now, 2 primary buckets going, and6 kits in a box waiting to be started.

This Work thing gets in the way of that fun thing called Wine Making.

Scott B, enjoy and be proud of those wines you are making. I am anxiously awaiting the age on my amarrone!!!!! ummm um
smiley4.gif

Wine preferences are in the taste buds of the beholder, it really is a personal thing.

I have made wines that I love and others hate, and I have made wines that I hated and others loved........ However I know I'm not the only one to experience this.