My Aeration-Oxidation Free SO2 Setup

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ibglowin

Staff member
Administrator
Super Moderator
Reaction score
Just finished setting up one of these and thought I would post some notes.

DSC02740.jpg

Pretty simple, easy setup. Parts can be obtained from a variety of sources including eBay, Amazon etc. Its the chemicals (and their cost) that can be a big drawback over the simple (Accuvin) test kits. Since I am a chemist by trade, its not so much a problem for me. Biggest expense is finding 25% solution of Phosphoric acid. Since it is a hazardous solution, UPS charges a premium for delivery. These chemicals also have a limited shelf life and should be refrigerated between uses. Order/makeup only what you think you will use up in a 6 mo time frame.

DSC02741.jpg

Accuvin test kits are fine for probably 90% of the home hobbyist.

This test takes 5 minutes to setup, 15 minutes to run each sample and then 10 minutes to clean up and put away.

My particular problem is that I have limited color definition and all my Accuvin test seemed like they turned out all the same color (to my eyes)

Very hard to discern the correct color in any kind of light. This test provides an easy (huge) color change that even my eyes can see quickly. The endpoint can be detected within a drop or two. Not much room for error in endpoint detection. Again good for my eyes!

The burette and mag stirrer are not a necessity, again chemist by trade. Most people can get by with a 10ml plastic syringe and just swirling each addition. The mag stirrer does get it into solution in a split second so you can see the approaching endpoint much faster. Much less chance of overshooting the endpoint.

20ml sample of wine is required

DSC02742.jpg