Muscadine juice or whole muscadines

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rita36

Reaction score
I want to start a new batch of muscadine wine but want to get a stronger flavor of muscadine. Should I make a juice out of the muscadines or just use the whole fruit ?

I'm not an expert by any means (have not made a Muscadine yet), but the some of those who have, say to leave the juice on the skins until almost dry. Do a search in on Muscadines, and I think it was Julie that commented on hers, and JSWordy is one of the resident experts on Muscadine Wines.

I use the whole fruit, I mash it and let it sit with pectin for 24 hours to break down the sugars, etc...before I start adding sugar with my hydrometer. I remove the fruit after 3 are 4 days, there is not much left of it then..
I get a good flavor with muscadines and mustang grapes that way.

I have pectin and I did that for my last batch. Do you squeeze out all the juice from the left over mushy stuff. ? Seemed to make such a big mess when I did that. Or maybe let it drip out

Make sure you the fruit has been crushed before you start, add enough water to bring your acid down to .80 and ferment it on the skins until you are down to around 1.000, then press the fruit (if you do not have a press, then yes you have to squeeze the juice out).

Ok thanks for the info. I don't have a acid meter I may go get one before I start this batch

I know I will have to thaw out my fruit first so I'm thinking of boiling it a little bit.

Ok I'll look up that kit. My first batch of wine I followed a recipie from Field and Stream. Turned on good and was very basic. No measuring or nothing. But now that I'm trying to do it "right" I get more confused .

Rita36,