Mead kit

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DaniJ323

Reaction score
Hi all!
I'm pretty new to the whole wine making thing. So far I'm on my second kit (VR Mezza Luna Red and VR Piesporter) and all is going according to plan....so far ;o)

My question is this....I love Oliver's Honey Mead Wine. I would like to replicate that if I can. I found a kit online, Curt & Kathy's White Wine Pyment. Has anyone ever tried one these? Or any mead kit? I don't think I'm ready to make a wine or mead from scratch and would really prefer to use a kit. Any suggestions?

Have never heard of this kit so cant tell you anything about it. What I can tell you is that making a Mead from scratch as long as you have the chemicals like nutrient and ev=nergizer and yeast is as easy as making a kit pretty much and we could help you through anything here if you wanted to try.

Actually looking at that link its not that bad a price at all as that is a good honey for Mead and a decent amount also and I know that Northern Brewer is also among one of a few reputable places out there. It states that this kit is also designed for carbonating so if you are planning to do so know that wine bottles area a no-no!

Actually looking at that link its not that bad a price at all as that is a good honey for Mead and a decent amount also and I know that Northern Brewer is also among one of a few reputable places out there. It states that this kit is also designed for carbonating so if you are planning to do so know that wine bottles area a no-no!
Hum? I'd have thought you'd get more for the money Wade.

After all, looking through the inventory/instructions, if someone already has the chems etc then it's pretty basic to replicate.

Me? for 75$ I'd want the bottles etc as well - it's a lot for just the honey, a can of "alexanders" and some yeast and bits.......