WineXpert Making First Red Wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mharris335

Reaction score
New here...just started my first batch of wine ever. Was very
scared at first, but now its in the primary and bubbling away. I
am on day 4 and I think its doing its thing. I am making
Winexpert Zinfandel. Has anyone made this kit? I
wanted to try a cheap wine the first time to see if it is any
good.

Welcome to a great hobby and forum. There are a lot a great folks here to help calm any fears you may be experiencing. I'm a newbie to this craft as well and at the ready to bottle stage this week end. I'm making a WE Merlot kit and it looks great sitting in the carboy, I'm ready for that first glass.

Good luck with your Zin, but be careful this hobbie is great at empting your wallet.

Welcome Mharris335 to the forum.

You chose a good wine for the first one. It's a good price and a very popular one. Everybody seems to love these. As your expertise and experience with wine matures, you will probably gravitate towards the heavier reds, but there are tons of people who like these. Have fun, learn patience and age themas much as possible while still consuming some. Sample as you go and it helps you learn what to expect.

It's the Vintners Reserve. How often should the thing bubble or
does it just depend on things I don't understand yet. lol

I have loved wine for the past 3 years and chose the Zin because the
local wine beer shop had only one kit that was under $100. I do
like zin's so it was a no brainer.

Thank you all for the warm welcome.

The VR Red Zin was my first one also, and I hate to tell you that I have been disappointedwith it. Pretty thin, and no discernible varietal characteristic. It's only nine months old, so there still may be some chance for improvement, but I don't hold much hope.