Kit recommendations for Mateus Rose wine?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ringmany

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm new to Wine-making and my friend has requested a wine. She would like:

'Mateus Rose Wine' which from my research is a Portugal wine. I'm not a massive wine drinker myself and I haven't heard of this one before. The main description is:

"Young, fresh, fruity and versatile wine. Wine of Portugal".

I haven't been able to find a kit or recipe online for this particular wine. As I'm a bit inexcperienced, I'm uncertain what types of Rose wine would be similar to this. I've found a few recommendations when search such as:

https://www.the-home-brew-shop.co.uk/acatalog/Magnum_5_Gallon_Rose_Wine_Kit.html

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00BS7AFJK/?tag=skimlinks_replacement-20

https://www.balliihoo.co.uk/vinclasse-rose-23-litre-7-day-wine-p-681.html?products_id=681

Does anyone have any recommendations for a kit of recipe similar to the wine that my friend has recommended?

Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:
I don't have a recipe for you but my recommendation is to make a kit rose and finish it on the slightly sweet side. I have memories of mateus rose from a couple of decades ago. It's not exactly a fancy or refined wine but more a simple every day at the table wine. My mum used to drink it as it was good value back when there weren't too many choices. If mateus is still the same as I remember then I'm pretty sure you can make something your friend will enjoy.
Winemaking isn't all that hard and kits are pretty decent these days. Keep everything very clean (I use starsan exclusively for winemaking and brewing to sterilise) and follow the instructions well and you can't do too much wrong. Rose isn't a wine to age so when it's clear bottle and enjoy.