Is it too late for a Holiday Wine?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LoneStarLori

Veteran wino, newbie vintner
Reaction score
I'm pretty new to this but have several empty primaries right now and that makes me anxious.
Is there a nice holiday themed (not Pineapple) wine that would be ready by christmas if I start today? I'm thinking only a gallon. That should get my daughters and I through Christmas dinner.

Have you tried the Dragons Blood yet. You would have to cut the recipe back to a gallon. Its red!! Its good and you can tweak it to your taste.
We were just going over this in anther thread. I wouldn't try anything unless is one of the early drinking kits. Those are also 6 gal. I mean you can try make anything you want just not sure it willl be at it best in 3 months. Jack Keller site has a lot of recipes for 1 gallon recipes but not sure about the time limit. Here is the Dragons Blood if your interested. Im not sure what the ingredients will be for only one gallon. Its a long thread you might actually find it in there somewhere. You can add cranberry juice
http://www.winemakingtalk.com/forum/f2/dragon-blood-triple-berry-skeeter-pee-33076/

Last edited:
I had read the Dragon blood thread the other day. (Well most of it) . I think it's a real possibility using cranberries. Maybe using juice and as well as dried cranberries.
I have scoured Jacks site too and he is real big on waiting at least a year on most of his recipes.
Leaning toward the dragon blood with a few mods.

Thanks for the suggestion.

You could also get a 6 gallon (I know you want only one) 6 week kit. These are pretty good and will be ready in plenty of time for Christmas. Plus it will give you extra bottles to give away as gifts.