Can I add yeast late to delay moving to secondary phase?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cmillz12590

Junior
Reaction score
Hi and thanks in advance for any help! I'm brand new to wine making and it's only my second batch. Last year's batch was essentially prison wine. So I'm trying to refine the process more this year.

I just started a 3 gallon batch yesterday. Yeast nutrient, pectic enzyme, and Camden tablets went in yesterday. Yeast should go in tonight. That would put moving to secondary (is that even the right term?) on Saturday. Unfortunately I just realized I need to be out of town this weekend though. So I'm wondering if it would ruin the batch to wait until tomorrow night (48 hrs after start) to add the yeast so that I can move it to the carboys Sunday night instead of Saturday, assuming it's at 1.03 SG by then. Thoughts?

Yeast knows no schedule.

You should be fine adding the yeast now. Your primary container should be a bucket. Cover loosely and stir two times a day (or more). Typically , when it reaches 1.001 or so you can transfer to a carboy and airlock it (secondary container).

Even if fermentation is done by Saturday morning the wine will still be protected by CO2 for a few days. Just stop stirring and keep the lid on… snapped if possible.

Welcome. What kind of wine are you making?

Ok so you're saying that you don't think an extra day in the bucket will hurt it?

My first batch this year, started last week, got to 1.02 in the 5 days in the bucket and my recipe called for 1.03. So I was worried I over-fermented it. Last year, my wine was so so strong with the taste of alcohol that I thought I must have over fermented that time too.