Hobo Wine from grape juice

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Stephen_D

Junior
Reaction score
Last night I watched a video about making hobo wine from grape juice, and made a batch. I didn't do any research other than finding other similar videos on youtube. I've never tried making wine before.

Here's what I did:

72 oz grape juice from concentrate, no preservatives, room temperature
2½ cups sugar added and dissolved by shaking
2 tsp Red Star yeast dissolved in warm water, added and shaken
cracked the cap just a bit
Put the bottle in a bowl and a closed box

This morning I checked it and there was a good smell, but it was barely active. Just a ring of tiny bubbles around the edge of the bottle. It didn't have the big bubbles that were described in the video.

Was it a bogus recipe? Did I do something wrong? Or is everything ok?

Steve

Please buy yourself a hydrometer (which measures the specific gravity, and, by inference, measures the amount of sugar in your must). Measure the specific gravity each day; if it is decreasing, your fermentation is proceeding okay. It should go down to less than 0.996 or so. When the SG has the same value for 3 days in a row, your wine is probably finished.

I'm gonna stay low-tech for now.

So, back to my questions:

1) Was it a bogus recipe?
2) Did I do something wrong?
3) Or is everything ok?

Steve