WineXpert Help

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
G

Hello

I'm a beginner to the whole winemaking scene, so I have a question which
may seem dumb but its been bugging me
smiley5.gif
. I just got done with primary
fermentation and according to the instructions and what I have read, I
was expecting there would be allot of lees left behind? When I was
racking I didn't see much of any sediment, only the Oak chips I put in
and a bit murky wine
smiley3.gif
. I followed the directions impeccably since this
was my first kit and i didn't want to screw anything up but i have a
feeling that I did something wrong? I racked on day 5 of fermentation,
the SG reading was 1.9 and I took the readings twice in a 2 hour time
period. basically what was left in the primary fermenter was maybe a
thin layer of oak chips and murky wine (although when I tipped it a
could see little sediments let behind). Did I do something wrong? The
temp of the wine during fermentation was high - 76-78F. Did that stop
the fermentation? My wine is now in a carboy and I can see bubbles
coming up the sides and I see my airlock still bubbling and I can hear
fizzing still in the carboy. Is this normal? Oh yeah I have the WE french cabernet sauvignon wine kit. Sorry if I seem really
noobish but I am i bit worried since this is my first time.
smiley2.gif

Thanks,
Jeff L.