Help - total disaster!

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fackler rebel

Junior
Reaction score
Due to my location, I can only get bottled unpasturized, I think, white grape juice. I used this as a base in another country that has camels and from the time I put in down until it went into the bottle was about 6 or 7 weeks and the finished product had a nice golden color, clear as a bell, and was just a wee bit on the sweet side of dry. I put down a batch here right around Thanksgiving, using LALVIN 71B-1122. The finished product is very sweet, similar to a German Spatlese, but WILL NOT CLEAR, and this is after several rackings. I am a amateur at this even though I made a very good wine and fairly good dark beer in Saudi Arabia. I suspect I have used the wrong type of yeast. Can anybody out there help this American guy stuck in the desert?

Correct me if I am wrong rebel but if i AM UNDERSTANDING CORRECTLY THIS BATCH WAS STARTED AROUND tHANKSGIVING. Has finished fermenting, been racked several times and you think the wrong yeast may have been used is what is prohibiting it from clearing.

First, I don't believe the type yeast used has any impact on how a wine clears. I could be wrong here. Second, It might possibly be that you are racking too quickly, not giving the sediment suspended in the winetime enough time to settle out and compact. I have learned thata good stong dose of patience works about as well as anything to clear a wine. In your location I would suppose that commercial clearinhg agents are abourt as scarce as hens teeth...one you might have avaliable though is egg whites..never used them myself but I understand they work pretty well.