general help with wine from grapes

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Busabill

Reaction score
Hello fellow winemakers! So this is my first time making wine from actual grapes! I'm very excited to get started I just kicked 100 pounds of Cabernet and 100 pounds of Zinfandel and I'm ready to go it has SAT overnight with potassium metabisulfite in the buckets. My problem is I cannot find it anywhere on this site just a good list of step by step directions for making wine from grapes. I've done a lot of research and read a lot of articles on different sites and sometimes they don't jive. Does anyone have a good list of steps or do you know where one is? The specific gravity was 1.020 getting started. Thanks for any advice or help you may have for doing this for the first time. I'm very excited as I've only done kits in the past but again I'm not sure what to do with the pH balance or acid testing or how long to ferment and do I do a second fermentation? Just general steps. Thank you! Cheers!

I hope you're ready from some learning by doing, because there are some things you simply have to experience to fully understand.
You're ready for the second step (assuming you have crushed and de-stemmed your grape): pitching the yeast. With cabernet sauvignon and zinfandel, I would use RC 212 yeast, but several should work fine. Hope you have some yeast on hand...
I presume you misread your S.G. because 1.020 is where it should be when nearly finished fermenting. Others will tell you that you need to measure acid levels and pH, but my philosophy is if the fruit is evenly dark-colored, sweet and not tart, you are probably good to go.
Fermenting will take 1-2 weeks, during which time you will be punching down the "cap" of grape skins, 1x-2x per day, to keep them in contact with the juice.