Forgot to sterilise my bucket

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wiresgirl

Junior
Reaction score
Hello everyone. This is my first post on here and I am a very new beginner!

Yesterday I began making some Nettle wine. But I think I have already made some mistakes and wondered if you thought I should start again or wait to see what happens.

Basically, I sterilised my bucket. Then I stupidly put my nettles in to rinse them before I boiled them.
Mistake #1 I put the grape concentrate, sugar, nettle liquid etc back into the same buck to ferment without sterilising it again.

Secondly, my recipe said to boil the nettles with the peel of 1 lemon and 1 orange. I did this, but didn't realise that it shouldn't contain any of the white pith at all, just the outside zest. I've read this will make the wine very bitter.
Mistake #2 not peeling the orange and lemon skin fine enough.

The mixture is currently fermenting away in the bucket. I am due to move it to the demi john in 4 more days. Do you think it is worth keeping, or should I start again?

Many thanks for any thoughts you have :)

You are underway already hopefully it will be okay. Lesson learned.

Great to have you here. Glad you joined. Ask questions if you need to. Searching this forum helps. There is also helpful info. on the home page under tutorials you may enjoy. Plus recipes, the map and alot more.

Last edited:
If you left the skins with the pith in the must, I would try to pull those out with a sterile spoon or strainer and either leave them out or scrape the pith off today. A little bit of bitterness can come out with time. Allot of bitterness can be a problem IMO.