Can my dragon blood skeeter Pee be salvaged?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wbhutchins

Supporting Members
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'm a newbie, just started this hobby last October. I'm learning as I go, but made what I think is a fatal flaw in my DB-SP batch.
I had things going well after primary and it went into secondary carboy. I had about a quart more than would fit, so I put the extra in a quart jar. I added the potassium sorbate and metabisulphate in the carboy, but didn't put anything in the quart jar. Mistake 1, I think. I just put an airlock on both and let them rest.

I racked the carboy into another carboy and had room left, so poured part of the quart container into the carboy. But then I noticed what looked grey in the bottom of the quart container and smelled... It was bad.

It has been sitting a month or so and I tried just moving on with it. I added back sweetening and set it aside. I gave it a tasting and it isn't terrible, but there is a aftertaste that hits the back of your throat after a sip. Again, not terrible, but kind of an off flavor. I think it has to do with the awful cup I poured in before realizing it was bad.

About a month ago I added another dose of sorbate and metabisulphate. But it hasn't seemed to make any difference in the flavor.

Is there anything that could be added to help? Should I just leave it sit six months and taste again? Should I just dump it and chalk up as a lesson in what not to do?

Thanks in advance!

I did something similar - once. After I added from the smaller container I smelled acetone. Damn. Lesson learned, smell and taste first.

I wonder if it's bacterial? Hopefully someone more experienced will chime in.