FNG with $1500 to spend

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

limulus

Reaction score
Hello,
This is my first post in the wine area (I have lots of posts on the sister site homebrewtalk). I've been brewing beer since about 1994 or 95. I have gone through lots of diy stuff and made some great beers. My kids are both away in college and I really have no bills. My wife only drinks white wine and I'd like to start making wine. I'm at a point in my life (54 next week and my back hurts) where I'm tired of going diy for everything. I am getting rid of most of my diy beer stuff and just ordered a Brewha BIAC system and a glycol chiller for my beer and would like to buy something not so basic for wine.

I know it sounds arrogant for a guy who has never made wine before to want something fancy and semi automated for wine without ever appreciating the finesse that goes into the craft. I am more than willing to start with a kit and basic equipment if that is best for learning. I do have a lot of plastic beer fermenters from places like Speidel and even 3 SS Brewtech conical brew buckets made from stainless. I was going to sell or give away a lot that stuff, but it may have another life for wine. Since I brew all grain beer, I'm definitely interested in going all-in with grapes. The Blichmann Wineeasy looks pretty interesting and for about $1100, it is in the range I have in mind.

So, for a FNG who has consumed lots of wine but never made it, do you guys think I should go more basic?

Last edited:
Normally, I tell folks to buy a wine making equipment kit from one of our sponsors or your LHBS. But it sounds like you might have most everything those would provide already at your disposal. I would get a few 6 gallon glass carboys, and maybe a few new fermenting buckets (I don't like to mix my wine stuff with my beer stuff).