First Dragons blood attempt

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kracker

Reaction score
Getting ready to start my first batch of dragon blood. should the fruit be mashed up or put in whole im not real clear? ? also anyone have the recipe breakdown for 5 gallons? im not good at that part

Getting ready to start my first batch of dragon blood. should the fruit be mashed up or put in whole im not real clear? ? also anyone have the recipe breakdown for 5 gallons? im not good at that part

Daves instructions on the 1st page of the Dragon Blood thread is quite easy to follow. It has you adding in 6 lbs or more of the frozen fruit in a nylon mesh bag. Yes they go in whole. You can start squeeing the bag starting the 2nd day before or after you add the yeast. By the time you get to an S.G. reading of 1.000 you won't believe how little is left in the bag. The only change I would make in the recipe making 5 gal. is adding just 5 gal. of water instead of 6. I would leave every thing else the same.

Will

Last edited:
I think the lack of responses per views does have to do with there being an exhaustive thread on DB.

Like Will posted, check out the DB thread. To save you the search here is the link... http://www.winemakingtalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=41825&highlight=Danger+Dave

BTW, it is the DB thread that opened my wine making world to making fruit/country wines and not just kit wines.

Good luck on your first DB batch!

Last edited:
Hello again. Just saw that you posted on the last page of the DB thread. You just need to check out page one, first post.

i dont have a nylon bag, can cheese cloth be used?