Filling bottles using counter pressure filler

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hugh_Jass

Junior
Reaction score
Greetings,
I've a counter pressure bottler that uses CO2 to push beer from kegs into bottles. Am I able to use this to bottle my wine when it finishes? I'm was going to rack to a corny and fill the bottles with the gun. After nosing around the site, I'm thinking it may be a bad idea because of the risk of the CO2 remaining in solution after bottling. Correct?

sorry, just a noob here who occasionally needs his hand held. :D

: cheers :

Yeah sounds like a bad idea to me. Plus you'll probably be shooting corks across the room!

Greetings,
I've a counter pressure bottler that uses CO2 to push beer from kegs into bottles. Am I able to use this to bottle my wine when it finishes? I'm was going to rack to a corny and fill the bottles with the gun. After nosing around the site, I'm thinking it may be a bad idea because of the risk of the CO2 remaining in solution after bottling. Correct?

sorry, just a noob here who occasionally needs his hand held. :D

: cheers :

We all need some hand-holding from time to time.
I don't know anything about that particular piece of equipment, but if it introduces CO2 into the bottle, I would not use it. Degassing CO2 is one of the difficulties kit-wine makers face, so you don't want to add any additional.

:u
<edit: I can't post a link. If you google "blichmann beer gun" You'll see the bottle filler I'm referencing> damn spammers

This link says it's ok for wine makers. I think they may mean sparkling wines. I'm going to have to kick them an e-mail.

Thanks all for the replies. :b

Here's the message sent to Blichmann: