Dealing with sediment from pressing whites

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

spaniel

Reaction score
I have >10 years of experience with fruit wines...only 3 years with grape wines. The bulk of my grapes (by weight) are Cayuga White.

My process has bee:
- Crush grapes (the old fashioned way)
- Put grapes in press; collect free run wine
- Press grapes; separate pressed juice into a separate batch

Here is where I run into the issue. Relatively quickly, the juice separates into relatively clear juice and some solids. I've tried to carefully collect the clearer wine off the top and get it into glass carboys through one of the funnels with a moderately fine filter in it.

This year, I ended up with 29 gallons of juice total. I was able to get 12-13 gallons of it -- 2 full 6.5gal carboys -- running it through the funnel with filter. The rest of it began to plug the filter so quickly that I gave up and just removed the filter and put all of it in glass.

Today after 24hrs sitting, the 2 carboys that had been through the filter had pretty compact lees on the bottom and I was able to take very clear juice off the top. The two carboys I had not been able to run through the filter were nearly 50% full of loose lees, and the "clear" juice was also much cloudier.

The pressed juice had much less issue with lees. I lost only ~.5gal of the 5gal carboy to lees.

In total, of 29gal of juice, I lost 20-25% to lees after a 24hr sit.

I'm concerned that I'm losing more juice than I needed to out of the two 5gal carboys that were 1/3-1/2 lees (the ones I could not filter).

I'm curious how others deal with this issue...or if 20-25% loss is just the price you pay. I'm hesitant to initiate fermentation with that volume of lees in the juice.