Day 10

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wineomaker

Reaction score
Going on day 10 of fermenting my California Connoisseur Riesling 28 day kit, everything looks good and ready to siphon to carboy at 1.010 and strong fermenting still going on, but i am worried about the smell of the wine, the wine doesn't smell like wine is this normal, i dont know how to describe the smell, strong alcohol wine smell, not a sweet wine smell and very cloudy. i did add 3 lbs sugar to the kit to bring the alcohol to 13%,
This is my first time at making wine and don't know what the wine should smell and look like.
Thanks for any info
Jim

1st WELCOME !

Now what you smell is the "yeasties" doing their thing. They are eating the sugar and making alcohol. The smell will go away and you will have a great wine. Continue following the directions.
Keep is posted..

wineomaker:

What sg did you have after adding the 3 lbs of sugar? Also what temperature has the wine been at?

My experience with Calif Conn Riesling is that it is usually below 1.000 after 7 days. The higher reading could be temperature or the extra sugar.

Steve

Thanks for the reply's The SG was 1.080 after sugar was added and the temp has been 69 to 71 degrees

winomaker, I too am new and started a batch(5gal) with a starting S.G. of 1.080 @ 67F and am on day 10. I hope yours comes out great. Don't worry about the smell, I've smelled some funky wines out of fermentation that friends or family have done but a year later they were simply awesome:mny

Are you sure you mixed and dissolved that sugar well because thats a pretty low reading for adding 3lbs of sugar! It should have been very close to that without even adding the sugar!