Cellar Below Water Table

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TxBrew

Reaction score
Is it possible to do a cellar or really a basement if the basement/cellar has a portion below the water table?

I'm not an expert but my guess would be probably not. I'm not sure even a sump pump would keep up or it would cost a bundle keeping it going. Some folks will do a raised basement under there house where maybe 4-5 courses of blocks are above ground and the rest under ground.

Anything is possible but this sounds like it would be very difficult and very expensive. A lot depends on your soil conditions and drainage possibilities but the hydrostatic pressure would be hard to overcome. It would be best to talk to a competent local contractor to see if any have been done in your area and explore the options.