Carbonation

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MFC

Reaction score
Let's say for example that I am very interested in skeeter pee. :)
If I wanted to add priming sugar (like beer brewing) when bottling the pee would the end result be carbonated delicious lemon wine? Would this even work?

my guess is that you could...

Ferment dry,
skip the sorbate, k-meta, and sparkoloid.
give the pee a stir,
add the back sweetening sugar
immediately bottle with crown caps.
Store each bottle "straight up" to allow the yeasts to settle to the bottom,
Decant after opening into drinking glass.

But then, I have never done SP before.

Good point.

Simply throw the pee and sugar into a corney keg seal, and shake. Let her cook for a couple of days, then chill her down.

what about retaining "some" of the sugar for the sweetness? How could you accomplish backsweetening with carbonation? (without a keg)

You would have to do it the way JohnT explained a few posts ago,

"Ferment dry,
give the pee a stir,
Decant after opening into drinking glass."

You would have to do it the way JohnT explained a few posts ago,

"Ferment dry,
give the pee a stir,
Decant after opening into drinking glass."

but wouldn't that ferment to dry?

for a little carbonation I put tube off of co2 tank into carboy(To bottom) of finished product. Let it bubble away, about same rate as your air lock bubbles during fermentation.Couple days of that and $10 worth of CO2 later. I have a bubbly wine
\No need to protect top of wine it will have a layer of co2 on it the whole time

for a little carbonation I put tube off of co2 tank into carboy(To bottom) of finished product. Let it bubble away, about same rate as your air lock bubbles during fermentation.Couple days of that and $10 worth of CO2 later. I have a bubbly wine