Camden Tablets

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MadCow

Junior
Reaction score
Hello

I'm very new to winemaking so I have a possibly stupid question.

How come Camden tablets kill off unwanted yeast but not the good yeast you use to ferment?

:?

The wine fairy comes.

The winefairy comes and magics away the camden tablet effects in 24 hours so the gloop is all nice and fresh for the good yeast. :tz Cheers, Tony.

Last edited:
I'm new at this also, but the way campden works is:
You add the crushed campden tablets to your must before anything else, the campden in the must changes to a gas as it reaches the surface of the must, kinda like evaporating. As it mixes with the must it kills all the bad stuff and any wild yeast. SO2 (Campden) in it natural state is a gas and as it reaches the surface of the must it returns to its natural state, which is a gas and then it mixes with the air in the room. It's such a small amount of
SO2 that you may not smell it. Like I said, I'm new to this also. This may not be exactly right, but, that's the way I understand it. That's why you have to wait 24 hours before you add anything else. After 24 hours, add your other ingredients and give them time to be absorbed by the must (12 to 24 hours) and then add your yeast. Others will probably give you a better answer.

Semper Fi

Thanks!

Thanks for such prompt replies!

So, I leave off adding the yeast until 24 hours after Camden tabs added?

The recipe I have seems to suggest putting the yeast in more or less right away - once the sugar and water have cooled anyway.

Actually, the campden tablets don't necessarily kill the natural yeast. They may kill a few here and there but what they are meant to do is stun them. After adding the tablets, if you let the must set long enough, the native yeast will recover and become active again.