RJ Spagnols Bulk aging ice wine kit

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Batty

Junior
Reaction score
I am very new to wine making but enthusiastic about my new hobby. I recently received a citrus ice wine kit which I, of course, had to start right away. I fermented in the primary per the instructions for approximately 14 days and then racked yesterday into the carboy (SG was .998). I wanted to bulk age my wine (mainly because the book I received with my Starter Kit said this was a good thing to do) so I didn't add any of the additives that came with the kit because it seemed to me that most of these should be added a week or so prior to bottling. I was confident that I knew what I was doing yesterday but today I am having second thoughts. Should I put in the additives (potassium sorbate, flavoring pack [I will have to wait until I get a new one, the one with the kit burst prior to arrival], and clearing agents)?

I would recommend you go ahead with the stabilizing and clearing stages per the instructions with the kit as soon as you get the f pack You need the protection the Kmeta and Sorbate provide during bulk aging.Edited by: Waldo

I ditto what Wade said....... Bulk aging in bulk isn't much different than aging in the bottle as far as protecting the wine.

Enjoy and what Kit are you planning on doing next?

This hobby is addictive! I got a starter equipment kit and a Riesling kit for Christmas. Since then (and yes, I mean only since 12/25/2007) I have started the citrus kit and I started a batch from fresh apples and pears from my grocery store. I had to order more carboys and, wouldn't you know it, had to check out what was on sale......and ordered a chardonay kit! When will it stop???!!!!

TOO LATE!!!!!! You can't stop it now.............. It even gets better over the next couple of years..........