bland

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Krhamm

Reaction score
First, i like to say that this is a great forum. I'm a newbie and glad to find this website. I do have a few questions and i appreciate any support that you may have. First, some of my wines seems a little bland. More water down than a good body flavor. I use Welch's concentrates. Will it help if i add more concentrate to start off with and to finish when i sweeten? Also, i've been using spring water to top off with when i rack the wine. Secondly, it seems that my wines have a little sulfate smell or taste to it. What causes this? I'm thinking it's coming from the campden whenever i sweeten the wine back up. Could that be and is there anyway to eliminate this smell or taste?

Welcome aboard!!

I would not use water to top off with - that is what is causing the "bland" taste. Adding water just waters down the wine leaving it without much body to it. Top off with a like wine or juice.

What do you mean by sulfate smell? Rotten egg smell?

If you added too much campden in you could have a strong sulphite smell to it. You could aerate this - but if it is bottled - you could just let it sit for a while. Usually a good splash racking will help this out.

How much campden and how often are you adding it?

I won't comment on the sulfate smell or taste, I would only be guessing and I am sure some here will better answer that question. As far as flavor, I would suggest not adding water to top up with but rather more juice. This will add some sugar back into the wine but will ferment out. when wine is dry add F-pack to it by reducing some juice over low heat by half, I usually shoot for 1 cup of juice per gallon. Then back sweeten to taste. Just remember to add pat. sorbate before adding the F-pack and back sweating.