Best way to add flavor

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sue

Reaction score
I am new to all of this. Am using Vintners Harvest Cherry base. Am using two cans for six gallons but read that it doesn't have much fruit flavor after fermenting. What is the best way to add flavor, and sweetness if needed? Any help or suggestions on using these fruit base are appreciated:)

Once you are done fermenting, taste and if needed then add some more cherry flavor and or sugar. Be sure to stabilized before doing this

On this same topic - I made some Dragon's Blood and it seems to have much less body than most of my own fruit wines. The recipe called for only 6# of frozen fruit (mixed berry blend) for a 6 gal batch - most of the time I use 2- 4 # of fruit per gal. Maybe it's supposed to be a little ...........weak & watery?

It's in the secondary now - just a week or so. Can I add fruit juice conc NOW to increase the flavor and body of the wine? Or something else? Do I need to add any other chemicals at the same time? (pectic enzyme, etc?) It's still settling & I haven't stabilized it.

Next time - I make it with at least 2# of fruit per gal.

On this same topic - I made some Dragon's Blood and it seems to have much less body than most of my own fruit wines. The recipe called for only 6# of frozen fruit (mixed berry blend) for a 6 gal batch - most of the time I use 2- 4 # of fruit per gal. Maybe it's supposed to be a little ...........weak & watery?

It's in the secondary now - just a week or so. Can I add fruit juice conc NOW to increase the flavor and body of the wine? Or something else? Do I need to add any other chemicals at the same time? (pectic enzyme, etc?) It's still settling & I haven't stabilized it.

Next time - I make it with at least 2# of fruit per gal.