Beginner from Albany, New York

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

davelochner

Junior
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
Brand new beginner here. Just started primary fermentation two and a half days ago on a Winexpert "German Mosel Valley Gewürztraminer Selection Estate" kit. I got this kit with the deluxe wine making kit from Northen Brewer.

While I am working on this wine I am beginning to think about my second wine. My father is asking me to make a Shiraz so I am pretty set on what varietal I want to use. I guess Syrah or Petite Syrah would work just as well for him. However, What I am not set on is what kit I want to buy.

So, I have two questions:

What are the best "All juice" or Fresh/frozen must kits for a Shiraz/Syrah/Petite Syrah and where, if possible, can I order them? (I have a six gallon system by the way.)

Second, as far as oak goes what is the best option when it comes to quality to price ratio? I have a pretty discerning palate so I'd rather make table wine at home to save money for everyday drinking and then invest more into wine futures for the special stuff. I have heard that buying oak barrels won't bring my wine to a sufficient level for it to be worth the cost. Are infusion rods or chips a better route to go?

Cheers!
Dave

Welcome, Dave, to a great forum. Sounds like you're getting right into it.
Is it just me, or are beginners these days starting off at much higher levels than when we did years ago?! Imagine, an Estate kit to start and talking about barrels from the get go!! Good on ya!
I don't do barrels, but from what I understand, they do greatly improve a red wine, mainly from the micro oxidation and not the oaking.
Good vinting.

Welcome aboard!