Am I crazy...another batch?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

China-Clipper

Reaction score
43da97f7-af38-469c-b6ef-0fe93c1b69f8.jpg

Well, I'm new to this wine-making thing. I started a 6 gallons of Winexpert California Pinot Noir a month ago; and, a 5 gallon batch of Apple from cider about three weeks ago. Now I'm considering a batch of Dragon's Blood for this month. The thing is, the time before drinking my wine is killing me. As everybody is recommending 6 months before drinking it, am I getting too far ahead by starting another batch? It seems everybody has multiple batches going at the same time.

Last edited:
photos

Well, I'm new to this wine-making thing. I started a 6 gallons of Winexpert California Pinot Noir a month ago; and, a 5 gallon batch of Apple from cider about three weeks ago. Now I'm considering a batch of Dragon's Blood for this month. The thing is, the time before drinking my wine is killing me. As everybody is recommending 6 months before drinking it, am I getting too far ahead by starting another batch? It seems everybody has multiple batches going at the same time.

Dear Lord, no!!!! get as many as you can started!!!!!!!!!!! :br

photos

Yes it is addicting. I hate to see an empty carboy. I have three 5 gallons of white wine to be bottled tomorrow with my brother, ( Vignoles and Diamond). Spiced apple, cranberry, and Mojito skeeter pee clearing on deck.:slp

Like Julie said, make as much as you can because when its ready youll have an assortment and not just 1 batch. Having 1 batch will result in it getting drunk too early and not getting a chance to age at all before its all gone.

I have consumed more wine in the last 6 mos, then the last 3 years.
It just something about having it all sitting in the rack, just waiting to be opened.