Aging in Carboy vs bottling

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tonyportale

Reaction score
Hello,
I've been making wine for three years so I'm still considered a novice. I understand the reasoning for aging the wine in a carboy and adding KMeta every 3-4 months or so to keep the wine from spoiling. My question is what keeps the wine from spoiling after it is bottled? I"ve got some wine aging over a year now in bottles. There is no way to get KMeta in the bottles after they are corked. I'm sure there is a simple answer. I just don't have enough experience to know why.
Thank you,
Tony

Your first premise is wrong. Which makes you come up with the question. First you do not lose So2 in a Carboy so there is no need to add it every 3-4 months unless you rack the wine in it. Then you will lose some and you will want to add. Just prior to bottling you should add another dose as you will lose some in the process of bottling. As far as aging there are reasons to keep wine in a carboy but aging is not one of them. Settling of fine lees, degassing or loosing co2, oaking, blending, and racking are reasons to keep wine in a carboy but if those are not issues then the wine should be bottled. Wine ages quicker in smaller containers. So if that is your goal then get the wine out of the carboy and into bottles. All you are doing is wasting time keeping it in a carboy.
Malvina

Last edited: