Secondary Fermentation Questions

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jpp7717

Junior
Reaction score
Hey Guys,

I have some questions now that I have my wine in the carboys. I made Merlot, a Sangiovese/Cabarnet Sauvignon blend, and Chardonnay.

I pressed the wine and let it sit on the gross lee's for 3 weeks. Next time i will only let it sit for 2-3 days. I have a sulphur smell coming from 2 carboys of the Sangiovese blends. I splash racked, then a day later I racked thru a copper pipe i bought from Home Depot. It seems that going thru the copper and splash racking has helped to decreaqse the potency of the smell. Is there anything else i should be doing to get rid fo the suphur smell? Should I repeat this process until the sulphur smell is gone?

This is my first year making wine so I am a little confused about secondary fermentation. I took a SG reading when I racked off the gross lees and they were in the range of .995-.997 I'm taking it that fermentation has comleted. My plan was to let them sit for 3 months, rack again, let them sit another 3 months and rack a final time before bottling. Should i add any campden tablets during this time? Or do i wait until i am about to bottle?

Thanks!

JPP, I have had success in hanging copper wire in the wine for a few days. I stripped out the ground wire from a 3 wire romex cable and cut several lengths so that it reached the bottom of my carboy and I could still get a grip on it at the top and twisted the ends together. It is the sulphur that you want to get rid of and it combines with the copper.

I also fashioned a whisk out of copper wire and use it to aerate wine in a fermenter when I detect H2S.

Red Wine Manual

Hi PJJ,