What is a recommended fruit to use to transition from juice concentrate to a "whole f

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

arcticsid

Arctic Contributor
Reaction score
As you know, I live in the middle of Alaska, and fresh fruit is not cheap. I have inquired about a couple different banana recipies. I have heard that melons(which sometimes can be found reasonable) is kinda touchy for a newbie.

So I ask of you, I am ready to make my first batch using fresh(whole) fruit. Is there a particular fruit that would be "easier" to start with to get the rest of my feet wet with?

Aples can usually be found reasonabbly cheap, although $1.79/pound for apples isn't all that reasonable.

I used to be a chef here and still have some connections with the produce distributors, so "reasonably" priced fruits may not be to far out of reach.

I don't want to buy $200 woth of fruit to make 5 gallons. Any suggestions on which way I should proceed?

As Always, Thank You

Troy

Just talked to the ditributor. $67.17 for 40 pounds of red delicious apples. YIKES! She told me they only warehouse apples and oranges and for any other fruits they usually get together with Sams Club to provide fruits for their clients. Too bad I can't make winne fron cat hair, this I have lots of. And if it were to be succesful, i could always say the next day, "give me a little bit of the hair of the cat that didn't bite me!!"
Your input is appreciated.
Troy