Mosti Mondiale Vinifera Noble Pinot Noir

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TomK-B

Reaction score
This is my first attempt at home wine making. I got the equipment pack from finevinewines.com with the Vinifera Noble Pinot Noir kit.

The primary fermentation went well. My original SG was 1.090. My wine reached a SG of 1.030 within three days. I racked it to the carboy, added the oak, etc. and watched it continue to ferment vigorously. It reached a SG of .996 on day six. This has remained stable until today - day eight. So, I racked it to another carboy, added the K-meta and began de-gassing. I was surprised at how little CO2 came out. I was using the drill powered stir-stick that came with the equipment pack. Then, I tried the vacuvin. But I got very little response. I will say that during the first three days it was in the carboy, the bubbles were coming out of the airlock fast and furious. So, I know that there has been a LOT of CO2 action going on in the wine. I went ahead and added the fining agents and topped off the carboy as per instructions. But I was really surprised at getting so little response from the de-gassing procedures. Is this OK?

There is a lot of variability in the response you can get from all kits. It will be fine. Give it some more time and maybe try the vacuum again. Also be sure the wine temp is about 70 deg or a bit higher when doing it. Welcome to the forum.

There are so many factors involved in degassing wine..........