two bins / gassing?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hamy

Reaction score
Hi as you may now know I am new to this and am determined to get a drinkable red in 4 weeks time.

My question is ... I bought a starter pack that included the fermenting bins and (as an upgrade) a nicer juice.

I have a 5 gallon primary bin and a secondary 5 gallon bin which has a tapered top and screw on lid. When reading the suppliers instruction for stage 3 (stage 2 is to sit in tapered 5 gallon bin for 12 days) it says degassing- siphon wine into carboy leaving sediment behind and stir for 6 to 8 times over 2 days. Can I just syphon back into the primary bin...clean out secondary bin then syphon back for me to degas as I do not have a carboy? Will this introduce too much air? I do not want to buy more equipment just yet in case it's rubbish! :h

Thanks

If I understand you correctly, you don't have an extra carboy. Yes, you can rack the wine back to the original fermentor, degas it there by stirring, clean out your second container, then rack back to it.

"Drinkable" is a very subjective term. If a wine is still green (young), in my opinion, the wine is not yet drinkable. Others definitely have a different opinion. I am sure you fall somewhere in there, also.

If you are making a non-sweet, red, don't be surprised if the wine is not very drinkable in only 4 weeks. Typically, the lesser the quality of the kit, the sooner it will be drinkable, but there is no hard, fast rule to say this in every case.

Usually, the higher quality, premium, and ultra premium kits take much longer to become "drinkable". They have more total dissolved solids (TDS), which makes them require more aging to become drinkable.