Sulfated wine problem

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sramic

Junior
Reaction score
Hi all, I am relatively new to wine making (10 batches, mostly kits, some fresh juice and one batch apple wine). I have bought fresh juice pails 4 times over the past two years. Two of those batches sulfated. First one was a Sauvignon Blanc from California. It was so bad it stunk up the entire house like rotten eggs and super thick layer of yogurt looking leese at the bottom of primary fermentor. After secondary fermentation I tried to rescue it with exposure to copper. It helped with the smell but tasted metally after. I also tried hydrogen peroxide and it removed the odor but the wine tasted bad. The second time was with a Chardonnay that was made with fresh juice again from California. This time it smelled great after primary and secondary fermentation. I bulk aged it for 6 months in a glass carboy. Then bottled it. A month later I uncorked a bottle for a taste and I can smell the hydrogen sulfide smell, and the taste is a bit sour.

Question 1. Is there anything I can do to my Chardonnay to fix it? (Sav. Blanc I had to dump).

Question 2. Is there anything I can do to prevent this from happening with fresh juice?

I have not had this problem with any kit wine nor did I have the problem when making wine from apples.

Appreciate any wisdom that may be out there.

Last edited:
Not sure if you can help the batch already made but for future batches you need to watch the temperature of fermentation and also added yeast nutrients can help to keep the yeast from getting stressed (biggest reason for h2s).

For your chardonnay..

- IMHO, you did not bulk age long enough. I would plan to bulk age at least a year before bottling.