Stuck Fermentation

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Anne

Junior
Reaction score
I'm a newbie and wanted to try something different. About three weeks ago I tried to make a batch of white cranberry wine - one gallon. I used a recipe for a red cranberry wine - 2 qts of juice, 2 qts of water, 2-1/2 tsp acid blend, 1/2 t. pectic enzyme, 1/2 tsp. energizer and 1 campden tablet. At first I only used 1/2 pack of yeast. My starting S.G. was 1.090. The first week it fermented very slowly, so over a few days I added another pack of yeast. Still wasn't hardly fermenting. Then I added another tsp. of energizer, following a technique I read about to gradually introduce it into the batch. Still hardly no action. In desperation I threw in a tsp. of nutrient. I'm pretty sure the juice I used (I think Ocean Spray) did not contain any sulphites, as I tried to read the label carefully. Three weeks later the S.G. is still reading 1.050. Is there much else I can do, or should I just chuck this batch?

Thanks for your help. Anne

What is the temp of the must? I would try adding another tsp of nutient
as the vintners cranberry wine base called for quite a bite more than
all the others I have done. When looking in ingredients on products,
besides looking for meta, stray very far from sorbate. I would say get
this batch warmer though maybe using a desk lamp right up against it or
a heating pad.

Anne where do you have the bucket sitting(what room- temperature)? What was the yeast you used? How much sugar did you add and when? If you can find the container reread the label and like Wade said check for any type of preservative.