Strawberry Wine Recipe Questions

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chopper

Reaction score
Regarding the Frozen Strawberry Wine recipe listed on Jack Keller’s web site, I have the following questions, if anybody has the time to answer them. Keep in mind, I’m a beginner, so some of these questions may be stupid.
<?:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" />

1. <LI =Msonormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; mso-list: l0 level1 lfo1; tab-stops: list .5in">The recipe calls for 2 tsp citric acid. Could I use acid blend powder instead without sacrificing quality? If so, how much of the powder should I use instead of the 2 tsp citric acid?</LI>

1. <LI =Msonormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; mso-list: l0 level1 lfo1; tab-stops: list .5in">The recipe calls for 1 tsp yeast nutrient. I have something called “Nutrient Powder”. Is this the same as “yeast nutrient”?</LI>

1. <LI =Msonormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; mso-list: l0 level1 lfo1; tab-stops: list .5in">The recipe calls for 3 lbs frozen strawberries per gallon. Could I use 3.5 lbs per gallon instead to give it a stronger strawberry taste?</LI>

1. <LI =Msonormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; mso-list: l0 level1 lfo1; tab-stops: list .5in">The recipe calls for dissolving sugar in water, and bringing it to a boil, and then pouring it in the primary fermenter over the fruit. Is it really necessary to bring the water to boiling temperature? No other recipes I’ve seen in other places call for boiling water.</LI>