SO2 tester

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi I'm new at this, I bought a apera ph60 ph tester last week I also wanted to buy a so2 tester just wondering if I should spring 200 more for the sc300 or get the sc100a any suggestions would be great and is ta real important

Hi I'm new at this, I bought a apera ph60 ph tester last week I also wanted to buy a so2 tester just wondering if I should spring 200 more for the sc300 or get the sc100a any suggestions would be great and is ta real important

Emphasis on TA varies- but definitely something you wanna be aware of. Either way both meters will test for TA the same. I recently went from the Milwaukee ph55 to the sc300. Definitely was a big upgrade. The Vinmetrica calibrates much quicker, holds much longer, stabilizes much quicker when testing, and has a convenient storage bottle.
But the apera ph60 looks legit. And even comes with a case and also has storage bottle. Looks like to go sc300 vs sc100 + apera ph60 is roughly $100 more.

IMO you can’t make a wrong decision here

So if you have a good pH meter, I think an SC100 is likely enough. I have a Extech pH220c pH meter. It's easy to calibrate and easy to use. I can run TA measurements in about 5 minutes or less. But just a pH meter is not enough. So you need an SO2 meter too. My understanding that a Vinmetrica SC300 is basically an SO2 meter with a pH meter tagged along. I'd rather keep measurements separate. That way if one side goes bad, you don't need to replace the whole expensive unit.

You are asking should you get a pH meter that can beep? , , for $200