Should I add another pack of yeast ?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NSwiner

Reaction score
I started a wine from frozen juice ( minute maid) on Feb 29,2016 . The starting SG was 1.070 I checked it a couple weeks ago the SG was 1.004 . I then put it in a carboy and checked again today it's still at 1.004 . Just wondering if I should add more yeast to take it under SG 1.000 . It's been warm because I had it sitting by a new kit I started a week ago and I set a heater beside it warming the whole room . Before that it was always between 20-22 C . I've never had one stop before going under 1.000 .

@NSwiner I wouldn`t , It`s close enough it should be fine ,Be sure to stabilize it . But Know Your wine might be a little sweet , PS I am a novice

your wine has finished. rack and add kmeta. I would suggest use of yeast hydrating procedures next time with Go-Ferm and addition of yeast nutrient like Fermaid-K once fermentation starts. both procedures will insure a healthy fermentation to completion.

I did use a yeast nutrient and energizer when I started . I really didn't want it that sweet but it's ok .

I did use a yeast nutrient and energizer when I started . I really didn't want it that sweet but it's ok .

Hi,
I don't know which product you used, if it was concentrate it might be that the preservatives may have gotten to the yeast. I sometimes have a hard time if they contain these ingredients, sodium benzoate, potassium sorbate etc. Acids in high levels without stirring in lots of oxygen and energizer, maybe?? Other than this too high a temp. ???

I did stir every day . Maybe next time I'll try a different yeast (used EC-118 ) and add more energizer . Thanks for the help everyone.