Recommended reading for the total beginner?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

winerocks69

Junior
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I am a long time lover of wine and have always intended to make some of my own one day. For the past 4 years my wife and I have been building a group of small sustainable farms with great variety. We're located in NW Oregon and have a small vineyard that already existed when we moved here that's at about 550 ft of elevation.

We have learned a lot about caring for all of our various plants and animals and have taken our time and carefully chosen what we've added and managed. We chose heirloom/heritage varieties that are suited to living in our climate. We are intent on growing things with a sustainable philosophy and will become "certified naturally grown" soon, as our small business grows.

My wife is a master gardener and I have learned a lot from her and have taken a few grape vine pruning classes. So over the past few years I have tried to properly prune back the vines. Last years we received lots of grapes! All mystery variety. We have recently befriended a man who grew up on this farm and that his father planted these vines. That they were wine grapes and that he had made wine with them and had won some awards at the Columbia county fair! Grape varieties are still unknown however... Some red and some white!

I have a great respect for this forum and apologize for being long winded... I am looking for recommendations for books that would be good for a beginner such as me.

Thanks for anyone who has read this far!

Happy wine loving to you all!!!

Sent from my iPad using Wine Making