Recommendations for a quick kit while the good stuff ages?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jstan

Junior
Reaction score
I've been lurking around here for the past few months and you all are wealth of knowledge. This is my first post. I'm new to this hobby -- started my first kit about 3 months ago -- so I don't yet have a collection of wine that's ready to drink. So far I've made 3 kits: WE Selection International French Cab (the first kit I made -- started in March and is bulk aging); MM Ren Viognier (started in early April and just bottled); and a MM Ren Chilean Pinot Noir (just started last week). I want to give all of these the time they need before drinking them, but I'm getting impatient.

I'd like to crank out an inexpensive kit that will mature fairly quickly so I'll have something to drink and keep my impatience at bay. Any suggestions for a red kit that might fit the bill? My favorite wines are Cabs (especially big tannic ones), Nebiollos, and Pinot Noirs, though I don't imagine any of those varietals will be quick. Suggestions?

Island Mist - Blackberry/Cab or Blk Rasberry Merlot. Kinda' sweet, but adding 3# sugar in the primary to boost the ABV and they aren't bad. If you you do add the sugar, add 3mos to the timeline.

IME it don't get any quicker. As you know, 'Big and Tannic' doesn't match up with 'Quick'

If Island Mist isn't an option, I suggest [yellow tail] :) The Shiraz, Cab and Shiraz/Cab are pretty tasty!

Skeeter Pee is another option. It "aint" wine but sure is fun! Great quick drinker for the summer. Pour over ice and forget that you might be a wine snob for a while. There is nothing that I like more than a big bold Cabernet or a really hoppy IPA but when you need to make something quick, something that is drinkable and fun then you have to do a skeeter pee!
Enjoy!