Racking to secondary

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mike1

Junior
Reaction score
Is it better to be a little early or a little late when racking to the secondary? I've got some blackberry in the primary and the SG yesterday was 1.070 and today it is at 1.050. The directions say to rack to secondary when SG hits 1.040, which will probably be tomorrow. But, I know I won't be able to do anything tomorrow. So, would it be better to transfer today, or wait until Wednesday?

Mike

im a newbie but i have found waiting always to be best with this wine thing.
But ill bet it wont make any diference really.

Wait for replys from more experienced folks please.

If you rack too early it might foam up and overflow or go into the airlock...been there...done that!!!! Wait for a couple days...

Hey Mike - From past conversations I have gathered that you don't want to leave your wine in the primary a real long time past due, though I don't think a day or so will matter. A stable (2 days in a row) SG reading is what you're shooting for. However, I agree with Scotty and you should trust the replies of the more experienced.

I can't believe I'm giving advice. I just finished my 7th kit and I still manage to spill wine everywhere.

Good Luck!

Jim

You want to leave in a little longer than shorter. Although if you have
fruit in there youll want to get them out after about 5 to 7 days as
they can go bad. You can wait longer. I usually wait until
1.030.You dont want to do it to early. Time is on your side.

Yes, wait the extra days. We've done both and really, you don't want to do it early. As Northern said, it does make a mess. I had to move my beet wine to the carboy sooner than I wanted to b/c of alternative life forms that appeared to be starting on the side of the primary a few days after I removed the pulp bag.
smiley11.gif