Primary Tutorial

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skinnydipper

Reaction score
Is there a tutorial for primary fermentation? It seems most recipes are vague in this area since, I presume, most hobby wine makers are well versed in this area. Being a noob, I find myself scratching the thinker when I'm deciphering fermentation. For example, I'm following a cranberry recipe and, again being a noob, it doesn't mention dissolving sugar in heated water, I did disolve it, but was that a mistake? Other questions I have, when do you check SG? I would really appreciate it if someone can point me to a tutorial, if there is one, for such basic things a noob may not know.
P.S. Sorry I haven't changed my avatar
smiley29.gif

skinnydipper said:
Is there a tutorial for primary fermentation? It seems most recipes are vague in this area since, I presume, most hobby wine makers are well versed in this area. Being a noob, I find myself scratching the thinker when I'm deciphering fermentation. For example, I'm following a cranberry recipe and, again being a noob, it doesn't mention dissolving sugar in heated water, I did disolve it, but was that a mistake? Other questions I have, when do you check SG? I would really appreciate it if someone can point me to a tutorial, if there is one, for such basic things a noob may not know.

Reason to heat water it will disolve the sugar better. Take readings all through out the process to see what stage you are in. Also when you have a ? you can tell us where you are in fermentation and your gravity. Remember make a record of what and when you do anything.