WineXpert Primary Fermentation question

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

garyd

Junior
Reaction score
I tried a search and couldn;t find answer, some sites yell at you if you ask a question w/o searching.

Anyway I am a newbie here- I am making my first wine kit, a Cabernet/Merlot from Winexpert, a 15l kit. I started primary fermentation and am following directions. My question is, do you do the primary with a lid and airlock or cheesecloth to provide oxygen to the yeast. I have seen both ways mentioned in my research. I am currently using cheesecloth on day2 - no bubbling yet, just a little foam. Thanks

I would put the lid on it with an airlock garyd. The kits do not require a daily stirring as other wines do.

I assure you that you will find no one yelling on this forum. Edited by: Waldo

I concur with Waldo as I like to put on the cover with airlock to keep out all the unwanted debris or insects.

It can be done both ways as you have found in researching it and it comes down to personal preference.

I prefer the airlock method as my wine making area is shared with the bar dog. Less likely to get unwanted bar dog hair in my must with the airlock. Oxygen can be introduced by vigorous stirring of the grape juice before pitching yeast. (I use a HUGE whisk (the capitals of the word HUGE indicate emphasis, I am not yelling.))
smiley2.gif

With 2 cats in the house we use the lid and airlock ... We just "place the lid on the bucket for the first day with a cloth napkin over the air hole. When activity picks up (day 2) we "snap" the lid into place and add the air lock.

We are new to the hobby, but so far this method has worked well for us. Good Luck! mwm

Okay, room temp. is 70, must is at 74, very little bubbling, SG has only gone from 1.090 to 1.065 in 4 days is this about right??