No wine yeast....

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thirrsty

Junior
Reaction score
Hi I would appreciate it if you share your knowledge and experience with me.

I am new to wine making. I have made my first try out bottle of grape juice wine 5 days ago.
It consists simply of the juice, sugar and instant yeast.

The steps were:
adding some yeast into a cup and pouring water over it, it became foamy and I added it to the juice, added sugar and shook it.
I open it daily (think I'm not supposed to). It has a sort of a sweet smell after shaking, the juice gets foamy on the top like a carbonated drink it also releases gas after shaking. Is there any danger of testing it or even drinking once it completes two weeks or so?

I have no access to wine east or nutrients so I would love instant yeast wine recipes from you.

If you have access to the internet to post on this forum, and a mailing address, you have access to all the winemaking equipment you need!

Bread yeast will make alcohol, sure, but it will never taste great. Trust me, I tried. Bread and wine yeast are selected for totally different traits.

spaniel said:
If you have access to the internet to post on this forum, and a mailing address, you have access to all the winemaking equipment you need!

My exact thoughts!

So you are making Tang with rain water or Kool-aid with a glass of public swimming pool water. Fish and chips man! Get some wine yeast off Ebay for $.99 a packet or Midwest Supplies even sells a one gallon kit with carboys and all the nutrient, campden, pectic enzyme, and more to keep you going for several batches for around $35. You can get free shipping items and good cheap supplies. Spend time on these forums and formulate your wish list.