New Member from Upstate NY

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nyredskinsfan

Junior
Reaction score
Hi all. I've been making wine for a couple 3 years now but am new to the forum. Have read a few posts and maybe even posted a couple times since last week. I don't get super wrapped around the axle making my wine
smiley4.gif
. I don't use a hydrometer and guess when I get close to 6 gallons in the buckets
smiley29.gif
. I usually end up with about 28 bottles. I don't use sorbate or sulfites either. The only problem that I've run into is once I couldn't get a Pinot Griggio clear. A friend of my wife's suggested adding benonite again and then a clarifier. Worked just fine.

Can someone help me out with Luna Rossa? It came with 4 x30g packs of French Oak chips. I cannot imagine adding all that. I put in one. I'm also interrested in what type of grapes make up this wine. Looking forward to comparing it with my favorate wine,Amarone.

Happy Easter

Randy

Hey there nyredskinfan. Where about do you call home. Upstate NY is a very big spot. I myself am from the Plattsburgh area. Can't get a lot more upstate than that. I'm not sure just what is in the Luna Rossa but I know quite a few folks like it as it comes. Since it had four packets of oak, I assume it was intended to be pretty heavily oaked. If you follow the instructions it should turn out as intended. If you like Amarone, Mosti makes Amarone in several of their lines. I have made the Mosti Renaissance Amarone and it is quite good, but still bulk aging.