New guy from Boston/ questions

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Startwining

Brewmeister
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm fairly new to wine making, as a college Biomaterials engineering student a professor asked me to study the microbial kinetics of it and well to make a long scientific story short after reading some posts on this site while researching I figure I could only benefit from your knowledge and experience..

I started a kit Vino Del Vida Cabernet / Shiraz followed the directions carefully however I had a question about adding the freeze dried elderberries. It says to rehydrate in hot water and then just pour into the ferment bucket. After doing so and stirring vigorously they still seem to float.. Is this a problem? Will they eventually sink or will I have to avoid sucking them up when I siphon to a secondary carboy??

Thank you,
After making a few batches of mead I was extremely excited to start my first wine!

Hey guys, I'm fairly new to wine making, as a college Biomaterials engineering student a professor asked me to study the microbial kinetics of it and well to make a long scientific story short after reading some posts on this site while researching I figure I could only benefit from your knowledge and experience..

I started a kit Vino Del Vida Cabernet / Shiraz followed the directions carefully however I had a question about adding the freeze dried elderberries. It says to rehydrate in hot water and then just pour into the ferment bucket. After doing so and stirring vigorously they still seem to float.. Is this a problem? Will they eventually sink or will I have to avoid sucking them up when I siphon to a secondary carboy??

Thank you,
After making a few batches of mead I was extremely excited to start my first wine!

Welcome to the forum.