Need a good Pinot Noir kit?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Elmer

Reaction score
I am trying to find a good Pinot noir wine kit.
While I did not want to make any high end kit until next year, I figure if I get a head start now, maybe by this time next year I will not have to buy my wife a store bought bottle of Mark West every week.

I notice that my 2nd nearest LHBS has Wine Expert Selection™ Chilean Pinot Noir 16L Wine Kit for $129.

I have no experience with wine expert, does anyone?
There is no mention of a grapeskins or dried grapes.
I am trying to move towards making decent kits and have been under the assumption that good kits usually have skins. (althought I have my dried grape pack left over from the super tuscan).

I was trying to avoid having to order one off the interwebs. This way I could keep the transaction off my books, as my wife would see.

So if I could get my LHBS to order it, I would be good to go.

:w

I started the En Primeur Pinot Noir back in July and just moved it into a Vadai barrel on Monday. The nose is already spectacular (IMHO) and the flavors are really coming around nicely. Wishing I had done it a year ago so I could be enjoying it this Thanksgiving.

I'm doing the cellar craft Pinot noir. It comes with a bag of skins. Getting ready to do my first rack.

If you're interested in a lower end kit...

Both my wife and I were well pleased with how our first wine making experience turned out, an RJS VdV Pinot Noir kit, in spite of a glitch along the way. A remake of that very same kit is currently bulk aging.

Last edited:
I have done the WE Estate selection, The Cellar Craft Sterling and a cheap RC Paklab (with tweaks) I think they are all better than a Mark West.