My wine is watered down.

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kk1224kelley

Reaction score
Through topping up and back sweetening I have made my wine thin and the ABV seems to have lowered quite a bit.
Well I have just discovered a juice product called "Naked" and they make real 100% juice and they have a product called"Acai Machine" wich is made from 178 acai berries 14 concord grapes 2 apples 1 banana 3/4 plum I thought this could be perfect to give my Welches concord some body back. What ya think?
As for the lowered ABV, I could get some brandy to add.
I don't know this is my second wine and I'm still learning Did I ruin it?

I learned my lesson on how to keep from watering down wine

Not ruined just watered down. I would take the juice you got and simmer it down by half. Next I would try a sample of the blend (at the right ratio) in a glass and see if that helps. If it does, then try the brandy and see if you really think it's worth adding it.

I'm going to try simmering the juice down and adding it
This is exactly why I'm using the welches until I get it so that I'm not out a bunch of money if I screw up. My first one was good I just made a mistake and watered it down too much.
Thanks for y'all's input This forum is so helpful to a beginner like me.

I take it that you were topping off with water. If so, this is the problem you have.

I always recomend against using water to top off. This is bad for a number of reasons..

First, by adding water you are lowering the wine's PH. This could be just as dangerous as leaving a large head space in your carboy. I have to recomend that you re-test your ph and make the appropriate adjustments!