my Beer is flat??? what did I do wrong?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brad Simmons

Reaction score
I have been making beer for a few years now (not regularly, just a few batches a year) and I love it. Never had a bad batch.

I just made this batch and it is flat - great taste and body, but flat as a flitter. Ideas?

I make wine too - so I am keenly aware of not killing the yeast, sanitation, etc - but I did something wrong here.

any input you gurus, you? :)

kylandsales.com said:
I have been making beer for a few years now (not regularly, just a few batches a year) and I love it. Never had a bad batch.

I just made this batch and it is flat - great taste and body, but flat as a flitter. Ideas?

I make wine too - so I am keenly aware of not killing the yeast, sanitation, etc - but I did something wrong here.

any input you gurus, you? :)
2 things come to mind.
Not enough priming sugar,
beer not in a warm enough place,
You did not wait long enough..
OK! 3 things.. LOL

3 weeks in the bottle is basically the minimum and like tepe said it has to be in a warm environment.

Big +1 on wade and tepe!

One more factor to consider:

How long did it sit before bottling? I had a batch of beer that I fined and let sit for over a month before bottling. I guess since all the yeast had settled out, it took over a month more for it to carbonate! Some folks add a little yeast at bottling time with the priming sugar, but I never found it necessary if you wait long enough!