Mosti Nero D'Avola -- Clarification stage

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mike Parisi

Reaction score
I have read numerous posts about how to tell if wine is clarified enough. This is my first attempt abd am making a Mosti All Juice Nero D'Avola. It went through primary and secondary fermentation just fine. I degassed and put in the Potassium Metabisulphite, Kieselsol, Chitosan and Potassium Sorbate as instructed.

It has now been 11 days (instructions say this stage should take 7-12 days). In many posts I have seen that a good way to tell if it has clarified enough is to shine a flashlight through the carboy. I did that, but I can't even see ANY light from the flashlight, much less a clear, non-fuzzy light.

How can it be that no light at all comes through? Need some help here. Should I rack it out into the bucket, clean and sterilize the carboy, then rack it back? Add something else to clarify it? Or just wait. I know this shouldn't be rushed and that it should eventually clarify anyway, so just wondering if there is any consensus on what the problem may be, if any, and what the solution is, if any action is actually needed.

Thanks for all the advice on this board.

It has been in the garage. Even for Tucson, Arizona, it has been pretty warm and the garage temperature has ranged from around 70 up to 80. But mostly in the mid-70's.

Will try your suggestion, but was wondering why no light getting through the carboy at all.

Red wines are tough to know if they have cleared. To add to Salcoco's response when you hold it up to the light tilt the glass. You should not see any particulates. However the 7-12 days is just the kit manufacturer's way of having you bottle it and buy another kit. It normally take longer than that.